Home > Ride To Conquer Cancer > Ride To Conquer Cancer

Ride To Conquer Cancer

I still remember the first time I saw a pair of cycling socks at the bike shop near my alma mater that exclaimed “Cancer Sucks!” I remember seeing them, stopping and chuckling to myself, thinking it was pretty funny. More than four years later, when I think about those socks, I still chuckle to myself, but not because I think it’s funny. Rather, because they say exactly what I am thinking. They put the feelings of cancer patients, survivors, and supporters everywhere into two words, bolded and written in white large block letters on black socks. I actually regret not getting a pair while I had the chance.

So what changed? What made those two words change from something funny, to something so meaningful? Well, it all started when my grandmother was diagnosed with lung cancer, and my dad was diagnosed with colorectal cancer. It took cancer hitting that close to home to really wake me up and show me how devastating it is. Since then, I’ve found out that among my friends, I’m not alone. More people that I had expected had loved ones who were fighting cancer as well, or were actually cancer survivors themselves.

Instead of just standing around and whining about it, I decided to actually do something about it. So this summer, on June 19 and 20, I will be embarking on The Ride To Conquer Cancer. Over those two days, I will be cycling alongside thousands of other riders on a journey from Vancouver, BC, to Seattle, Washington. Our numbers will consist of family, friends, and supporters of cancer patients, as well as cancer survivors. We do not ride for ourselves, but rather for those all those who are, have been, or will be affected in some way by cancer. All the funds we raise go directly to the BC Cancer Foundation to help fund research for better treatments and work towards a cure for cancer. I’ve personally set a goal to raise at least $3200 by the beginning of the ride.

So how can you help?

  1. Register for the ride and join us on this journey.
  2. Donate directly at my personal page. (And don’t forget to see if your employer offers matching for donations). Whether it’s, $10, $20, $100 or more, every dollar helps and is greatly appreciated!
  3. Tell your friends, family, and coworkers about the ride and forward them the link to this page, or my personal page. Word of mouth, email, Facebook, Twitter, they’re all good! You can tweet the following or make your own: “Support @hjue87 in The @RideToConquer Cancer! http://bit.ly/anpfLN”
  4. If you have any ideas on how to fundraise even more let me know!

Thanks in advance for everyone’s support! I’ll keep everyone posted on my training and fundraising progress here on the blog, so be sure to check back!

Here are a couple of videos that tell you more about the ride:

Leave a Reply

