Home > Ride To Conquer Cancer > RTCC Training Update #1: Riding In The Rain

RTCC Training Update #1: Riding In The Rain

So today was my first group training ride for The Ride To Conquer Cancer (RTCC). Woke up nice and early to load all my gear and my bike into the car and drive out to Burnaby North Secondary School. We started off with a quick bike clinic on how to change a flat tire (including much needed practice) and how to clean your bike properly (especially since we were going to be riding in the rain and wet conditions). So that took about an hour or so, and then we headed out on our ride (Click here for the route). The rain wasn’t coming down that hard, and luckily it was pretty warm so the ride to the pit stop (turn around point unless you did an extra loop up the hill which I didn’t). The ride out was pretty good, and the group I was riding with definitely made things much more fun. After a short break with the usual fare of oranges, apples, various granola bars (had myself a chocolate + peanut one with fibre and omega 3’s! Nom nom nom), along with water and gatorade, we made the ride back. We were much more dispersed so a lot of the time I was riding by myself, but with the next person in front of me in sight. The last little bit of the ride was the toughest, as it was a gradual uphill for a while (but hey, uphill finish right?). Perhaps the funniest thing was that as I was pulling into the parking lot at the end of the ride, I ran over a smallish piece of glass and got a flat. At least it didn’t happen earlier during the ride eh? All in all it was a fun, great ride (minus all the cleaning I had to do afterwards), and I got to meet a lot of new people. Looking forward to the next one, or just even riding with a group again. Maybe when the weather gets nice, I’ll try to organize a fun little group ride or something. Let me know if you’re interested and I’ll send the details your way as well!

  1. March 27, 2010 at 9:24 am

    When is the next ride you will go on? Let me know in advance so I can plan, I really need to get out more.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

