Home > Food, Ride To Conquer Cancer > RTCC Training Update #2: Les (Homemade) Noms

RTCC Training Update #2: Les (Homemade) Noms

So for the past while, I’ve been looking for good recipes for snacks to take with me when I go riding. A few days ago, I came across a simple little recipe and decided to give it a try. They came out pretty well and I predict that I’m probably going to somehow finish all of them (ended up making about 8 squares) by next week. This is only a first run, and there some small-ish adjustments I plan to make for the next batch, but here is the recipe for what I made today.

Original recipe can be found here.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup oats (I can’t remember exactly what kind I used, as we always empty the big bags we get into jars and I can’t find the big bag anywhere. I think any kind should work though. Let me know the results if you try making these!)
  • 1/2 cup raisins (or other chopped dried fruit)
  • 1/2 chopped/crushed peanuts (I used cocktail peanuts and just crushed them by rolling a glass jar over top of them. You could use other nuts if you like too. If you’re allergic to peanuts/nuts, you could probably use soy nuts or something similar.)
  • 1/6-1/4 cup of chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Thoroughly combine egg, vanilla extract, and brown sugar in medium bowl.
  3. Stir in remaining ingredients until well combined.
  4. Transfer to small baking pan that you have either buttered or lined with parchment paper (I used parchment paper, as it’s easier to extract the bars after baking and requires less clean up.) Pack firmly.
  5. Bake for 25 minutes.
  6. Allow to cool.
  7. Divide into portions.
  8. Enjoy.
  9. Ride.
  10. Repeat 8. and 9. until you wonder how you ate them all so quickly.
  11. Repeat. =D

I used a 7×10 baking pan and found that the resulting bars were a little bit too thin for my liking and fell apart a little bit. This might be due to the raisins not really binding things together, so next time I’m going to add fewer raisins and maybe just bake a double batch in the same sized pan to get a thicker bar.

If you happen to try this recipe out, let me know how it goes and how you personalized/customized the recipe. If you have suggestions for me to try, let me know as well!

  1. LG
    March 25, 2010 at 11:54 am

    oooh! sounds yummy!

    (what? you can eat peanuts? =) )

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

